top of page

Entry #5

I am so glad to be back home. I loved Mongolia so much, but being back with loved ones was the reason why I am not still in Mongolia. Looking back on everything, we got a lot done. We interviewed so many influential and inspiring women of Mongolia. And I liked that most of the interviews I really agreed with something and then completely disagreed with the next thing that they said. I think that was really helpful for my growth. I gained so much confidence not only talking in a class-like setting but by being around all of these different kinds of people, study abroad and not study abroad people, that I was really able to clearly see my values. I for once had the confidence to rely on myself. I did not really second guess myself like I usually do and I relied on myself for advice. I did not realize how much of an independent person I am. I really value that now that that quality of mine has become clear to me. This has been a really rewarding trip but it also has been a really tough one. Through the tough times I have had to remind myself of what I think and what I believe and value. I know I am so much stronger because of this trip and I plan to keep this strength with me. I now know that I have more of a voice. I am going to work on being able to speak up for myself and my values. If I do not I am letting this cycle and this boundary-pushing to silence me. I am done with being quite about how I feel and what is important to me. It is important for me in my career path but just in my daily life to work on speaking up for myself and for others.

Other than my own personal revelations, I got to learn a bout a culture that I did not know much about. Learning from my Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies minor, I know how important it is to listen. Instead of having maybe a professor that is not from Mongolia or just reading a book written by someone who is not Mongolian teaching me about Mongolia and Mongolians, I got to go to Mongolia and I got to listen to Mongolians. That is an amazing privilege that I was able to receive. I wish I could do that for every country but I am glad that I did not just go to France because I can speak some French or go to the UK because we speak English. I have learned about Europe so extensively in my history classes growing up. They do not have too different of a culture as America. That’s why I wanted to go to Mongolia. I wanted to listen and to absorb a country that I knew very little about. I got to hear about different women’s experiences and that was incredible. It was million steps further than any of my college classes could have given me. I am so grateful for being able to go on this trip. I’m glad to be back home but now I am so excited for my next adventure.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page